Philosophies I Try to Live By

1. Don’t waste your time on people you don’t like. Save your advice for the people who mean something to you. Even when having to point out that they are too drunk or whatever or parsley teeth. People who don’t add to your life, should be ignored. Harsh but true.

2. Almost everything is funny, given enough time. Sandra Cain was the first to say these wise words. I often find my OCD hilarious mainly because if I didn’t…well…you know. ANYWAY. Laughter is better than jail and it does a lot of good for your body, brain, and relationships. Have a giggle at yourself, it’s good for you.

3. Be kind because you can, not because you have to. I want you to imagine something for me. Imagine that you had a genuine conversation with a check-out lady. At the end of this conversation you say; “It has been really great chatting with you. Have a great day”. Now imagine if she was having a really hard time. Maybe she’s lonely or her husband/significant other just dumped her.  Now, imagine that your kindness, even if only for a short period of time, made her feel good. Made her feel valued. Made her feel human. That’s a gift. To show kindness and be genuine is a gift of higher order thinking. Plus, on a biological psychology level, your doing your brain and body the world of good. Not to mention her’s.  It’s a win win.

4. You learn more from your mistakes than you do your success. Why wasn’t this drummed into me as a kid? I’d be a genius by now! I struggle with this one. I really do. It’s like I have always said; Hindsight is a pain in the ####

5. Be brave. Being true to yourself is hard. It means standing up for what you believe in and suffering any consequences both good and bad.  Winston Churchill said: “You have enemies. Good, then you stood up for something, sometime in your life.”

6. Being wrong is good and being able and willing to admit that your wrong is even better. Being wrong isn’t something to be ashamed of. It’s something to embrace. To think, now I get something new to learn. I have a clearer understanding of what I know and more interestingly, what I don’t know. Try it. It’s good for you. 😀

7. Don’t criticise what you can’t understand.” Bob Dylan. If you don’t get it, that’s okay. You have two choices. a. Learn about it. b. Be polite.

8. “How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world”~ Anne Frank.  Leave this world better than you found it.  How ever you think you can do it, grand or small, it will make a difference.

2 thoughts on “Philosophies I Try to Live By

  1. 1. Correct. Hardly going to like you more by sucking up so just leave it. Plenty of folk mor deserving of your time and attention.
    2. No idea how I’d cope, or not, without a healthy dose of humour. I rip it out myself all the time not because I necessarily put myself down but to lighten things a bit.
    3. If you have to be kind you are not really being kind, just devious and sting your own ends. Be kind because you can, be amazed how much better you fell for it, so much less stress
    4. Mistakes give you more feedback, personally I spend more time dissecting a mistake than a success
    5. If you’re not brave and don’t stand up for at least some things you end up hating yourself for it
    6. We are not always right and it’s amazing what not always being right can teach you and do for you.
    7. If you don’t understand and criticise you just come across as ignorant and bigoted more often than not
    8. We all make a difference and I think it’s important that none of us lose sight of that

Leave a Reply

