The weird things that happen to Pinky: Buying Cigarettes.

Dearest Reader,

I must tell you what happened to me last week. I was on my way home from taking the kids to a shopping centre and I needed to stop for petrol and cigarettes (ciggies)  (yes, I smoke and yes I know it’s bad for me, but it’s not the point of the story…so just shoosh). So I go to the local service station and filled my car with petrol. Keys and wallet in hand I went to the counter to pay for it and buy ciggies. I ask for them and the servo-dude asked me for ID. I looked at him and said:

“For real? I just drove in here…in a car.”

“ID please. I cannot sell you cigarette’s without seeing your ID”

I look over to my car; “But, I’m buying petrol as well…so doesn’t that kind of prove my age?”

“I need to see ID to sell you these cigarettes. Do you have ID?”

I start giggling; “You’re going to shit yourself when you see how old I am”

“ID please”

I hand over my drivers licence. “Those people in the car are my children FYI. How could I be under 18 with 2 teenagers and a toddler?”

The servo dude struggled to work out my age, maybe I shouldn’t have “helped” him answer the question by sarcastically saying:

“2013-1977=…”

The servo-dude’s eye’s suddenly go wide with the realisation that I am old enough to purchase the forbidden tobacco.

“I’m so sorry Sir.”

“Ma’am”

“Oh, sorry, but you see, someone lost their job…”

“I get it. Selling cigarettes to juveniles bad. Underage driving and purchasing petrol is okay”

A baffled look spread over his face.

I walked out of that servo really confused.  I’m not against the laws surrounding the selling of ciggies. I actually support them. I just felt a bit weird that if they really believed I was underage, shouldn’t they have questioned my driving as well?

This stuff happens to me all the time. It’s hilarious and a little depressing.

Thanks for listening

Yours

Pinky

5 thoughts on “The weird things that happen to Pinky: Buying Cigarettes.

  1. “I’m so sorry Sir.”
    -“Ma’am.”

    It’s marvelous how this punctuates the awkward absurdity of the exchange. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Not sure how it works in other countries, but in Canada driving age is 16, and smoking age is 19, so it’s entirely possible to be filling up the gas tank but not be old enough to smoke…

    • Here in Australia (well Melbourne, Victoria) you can neither drive nor by cigarette’s until your 18. As it is a uniform regulation, I thought it was obvious that I was over the age of 18…Apparently not. 😉

Leave a Reply

